Cannabis Law: General Requirements Overview from the Mississippi Department of Health
The Mississippi Department of Health has released proposed “general requirements” for the medical marijuana program in Mississippi.
These general requirements outline different definitions applicable to the medical marijuana program, such as: “debilitating medical condition,” “medical marijuana treatment center,” and “physician certification.”
The general requirements also detail the required application process for:
- Identification cards
- Cultivator licenses
- Manufacturer licenses
- Dispensary licenses
- Independent medical marijuana testing facility licenses
Applicants are able to apply for more than one license at one time. These licenses will remain valid for one year from the issue date.
Application fees are also given in the general requirements.
- Cultivator license fee: $15,000 ($10,000 renewal)
- Dispensary licensee fee: $15,000 ($10,000 renewal)
- Independent medical marijuana testing facility licensing fee: $15,000 ($10,000.00 renewal)
- Manufacturer license fee: $15,000 ($10,000 renewal)
- Identification card fee: $50.00
- Identification card replacement fee: $25.00
Following the application process, if an entity’s application is denied, the applicant will be allowed to appeal the decision. If the application is accepted, the entity must keep the Mississippi Department of Health informed of any changes in status or ownership.
The entities must abide by confidentiality rules and HIPAA.